An Exhausted Philophobe With A Life That Revolves Around Photography and Could Have Been's...

02 Jun

Our Looking Glass; #1

Published by Ishoyor  - Categories:  #Life, #Personal Thoughts, #Love, #Reflection, #Pack

*From his perspective

 

Like all things created, there was a beginning, the planting of a seed now sprown, the emergence of a fountain, the aftermath of deeds behind closed doors, the birth of a force... Growing.

18th August 2015, surrounded by unknown faces and standing amidst various fragrances, I paced the hall that was Landmark Event Center, Lagos being led by an older version of myself... name wise. I was a newbie to such social gatherings and Mr Olabode James was helping me feel most comfortable.

 

After 5 hours of tech talk, an unproductive interview and first time cocktail, we head into the time consumer that is Lagos traffic. We're digging into life's troubles and laughing when James tells me; "When you leave school, you'd have time for every other thing but love, so my sincerest advice is you "find love now". It'll pay to have someone know you for who you truly are... at your lowest".

 

That struck a chord. Already, I was piecing together myself from a tale gone sour and he was inviting in for part two... Seriously? The cosmos must just love picking on little ol' me.

 

As I get home, I summon the courage and send her a text. I've had a crush on her since forever and well, I might as well be crushed than live with a conscience of 'Had I known'... 2 minutes of courage is all I need... this might be the only time I get to experience the 2 minute thingy.

 

"Hi Sweetheart. Good evening. This might come as a surprise to you but I've liked you for the longest time now and well... that's it" *send*.

 

What did I just do? Soon enough, her reply comes in and I knew I had officially killed myself.

 

"Hi Baby. Okay, when you get back, we'll talk. Take care of yourself".

 

Oh well, there's no turning back now, there's only what awaits on the other side...

 

To be continued...

Comment on this post

About this blog

An Exhausted Philophobe With A Life That Revolves Around Photography and Could Have Been's...